CERN Accelerating science

European Organization for Nuclear Research

Internationalising Knowledge Transfer

CERN takes part in the 3rd meeting of the European Technology Transfer Office Circle

Representatives from technology transfer offices of major European public research organisations*, industrial representatives, and European Commission staff took part in the third meeting of the European TTO Circle on 26-26 April 2012. The meeting took place in Rome, hosted by ENEA, the Italian National Agency for New Technologies, Energy and Sustainable Economic Development and by CNR, the National Research Council.
Established by the Joint Research Centre of the European Commission, the TTO Circle brings together the major European public research organisations in order to play a collective role in driving changes to the Technology Transfer landscape in Europe.

Main topics of discussion were EU policies and new initiatives towards research, innovation and technology transfer. Special attention was dedicated to the international dimension of knowledge transfer and to studies and reports on theory and practises of networked innovation at international level.
Through the Knowledge Transfer group, CERN is actively involved in several working packages of the TTO Circle. In particular CERN’s KT representatives contribute to a working package aimed at designing and establishing common financial schemes among the TTO Circle partners, in collaboration with the European Investment Fund, to accelerate technology transfer.


* At present the network comprises the following member organisations (25 in total): CEA, INRIA (France); CNR, ENEA (Italy); Fraunhofer Society, Helmholtz Association, Max Planck Society (Germany); IMEC (Belgium); NERC representing the Research Councils UK (UK); RISE (Sweden); SINTEF (Norway); TECNALIA, CIEMAT (Spain); TNO (The Netherlands); VTT (Finland); CERN, ESA, ESRF, JRC, ILL (International), ETH Board (Switzerland); TUBITAK (Turkey); Yeda R&D representing the Weizmann Institute (Israel); DTI (Denmark); Teagasc (Ireland). The JRC of the European Commission will coordinate the TTO CIRCLE and provide its secretariat. In addition, European associations such as EARTO, ASTP, and Proton are invited to contribute to the activities of the Network.

May 2012